

# E-CIGARETTE BAN & REGULATION: GLOBAL STATUS AS OF OCTOBER 2019

#### 42 COUNTRIES¹ BAN SELLING OF E-CIGARETTES

The sale/distribution of e-cigarettes<sup>2</sup> is banned in the following forty-two (42) countries: Antigua and Barbuda\*, Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Barbados\*\*, Bhutan, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Colombia, Costa Rica\*\*, Egypt\*, Ethiopia\*, Gambia, India³, Iran, Japan, Jordan, N Korea, Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Mauritius, Mexico, Nepal, Nicaragua, Oman, Panama, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Syria, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela\*

## 56 COUNTRIES ALLOW SELLING OF E-CIGARETTES BUT PROVIDE SALES RESTRICTIONS/REGULATIONS

In fifty-six (56) countries that permit the sale of e-cigarettes, there are regulations around sale such as cross-border sale restrictions/regulations, restrictions in venues where they can be sold, access restrictions, or other restrictions:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, China, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica<sup>4\*\*</sup>, S. Korea, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Palau, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland<sup>5\*\*</sup>, Tajikistan, Togo, Turkey<sup>6</sup>, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Vietnam.

### **30 COUNTRIES REGULATE NICOTINE (and/or OTHER) CONTENT/S OF E-CIGARETTES**

Of the fifty-six (56) countries allowing the sale of e-cigarettes, at least thirty (30) are known to regulate the amount (concentration/volume) of nicotine in e-liquids — in the EU, the threshold concentration is 20mg/mL "AND" do not permit the use of ingredients (other than nicotine) that pose a risk to human health in heated or unheated form in nicotine-containing e-liquid ("OR" for Canada and Israel):

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and United Kingdom.

**OTHERS:** There is no reliable information available in other countries and are hence, not listed here. E-cigarettes are found/ likely permitted in many African/ Latin American countries, although in many cases, there are no specific laws allowing/ disallowing the same.

#### SOURCES:

- 1. <u>Global Tobacco Control website: https://www.globaltobaccocontrol.org/e-cigarette/domain-classification</u>
- 2. Information provided by country contacts

<sup>\*</sup> Included based on information from No Fire, No Smoke: The Global State of Harm Reduction, 2018 (GSTHR)
\*\*Conflicting information found

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Refers to sovereign states. Territories such as **Hong Kong**, which is has pending legislation for banning e-cigarettes, is not included in this listing.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Five (5) countries specifically prohibit the sale of nicotine-containing e-cigarettes: Australia, Costa Rica\*\*, Japan, Mexico, Sri Lanka.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup>India issued an executive order prohibiting sale of e-cigarettes but legislation on the same is still pending.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Importation is not allowed without permit from the health ministry, use in public places is banned.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> A ban on sale was overturned by the courts as of Apr 2018 No information regarding appeal.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> Plans to ban e-cigarettes sales have been announced in Turkey.