

E-CIGARETTE BAN & REGULATION: GLOBAL STATUS AS OF February 2020

41 COUNTRIES: BAN SELLING OF E-CIGARETTES

The sale/distribution of e-cigarettes² is banned in the following forty-one (41) countries: Antigua and Barbuda^{*}, Argentina, Australia, Bahrain^{**}, Barbados^{**}, Bhutan, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Colombia, Costa Rica^{**}, Ethiopia^{*}, Gambia, India, Iran, Japan, N. Korea, Kuwait^{**}, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Mauritius^{**}, Mexico, Nepal, Nicaragua, Oman, Palestine, Panama, Qatar, Seychelles, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Syria, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela^{*}

66 COUNTRIES ALLOW SELLING OF E-CIGARETTES (BUT PROVIDE SALES RESTRICTIONS/REGULATIONS)

In sixty-six (66) countries that permit the sale of e-cigarettes, there are typically some regulation that govern the sale such as cross-border sale restrictions/regulations, restrictions in venues where they can be sold, access restrictions, or other restrictions:

Afghanistan, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, China, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia^{***}, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica₃^{**}, Jordan, S. Korea, Latvia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Moldova, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Palau, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland^{4**}, Tajikistan, Togo, Tunisia Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Vietnam, Yemen^{**}

32 COUNTRIES REGULATE NICOTINE (and/or OTHER) CONTENT/S OF E-CIGARETTES

Of the sixty-six (66) countries allowing the sale of e-cigarettes, at least thirty-two (32) are known to regulate the amount (concentration/volume) of nicotine in e-liquids — in the EU, the threshold concentration is 20mg/ml "AND" do not permit the use of ingredients (other than nicotine) that pose a risk to human health in heated or unheated form in nicotine-containing e-liquid ("OR" for Canada and Israel):

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and United Kingdom.

OTHERS: There is no reliable information available in other countries and are hence, not listed here. E-cigarettes are found/ likely permitted in many African/ Latin American countries, although in many cases, there are no specific laws allowing/ disallowing the same.

SOURCES:

- 1. <u>Global Tobacco Control website: https://www.globaltobaccocontrol.org/e-cigarette/domain-classification</u>
- 2. The Global State of Tobacco Harm Reduction (GSTHR): https://gsthr.org/
- 3. Tobacco Control Laws: https://www.tobaccocontrollaws.org/legislation
- 4. WHO Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterranean (WHO EMRO) as of February 12, 2020 for all EMRO countries
- 5. Information provided by country contacts

*Included based on information from No Fire, No Smoke: The Global State of Harm Reduction, 2018 (GSTHR) **Conflicting information found ***Annears to be "leaitimized" only by being subject to tax lays

^{***}Appears to be "legitimized" only by being subject to tax laws

Refers to sovereign states. Territories such as Hong Kong, which is has pending legislation for banning e-cigarettes, is not included

² Five (5) countries specifically prohibit the sale of nicotine-containing e-cigarettes: Australia, Costa Rica**, Japan, Mexico, Sri Lanka.

³ Importation is not allowed without permit from the health ministry, use in public places is banned.

⁴ A ban on sale was overturned by the courts as of Apr 2018 No information regarding appeal.